UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10648
Date: [20 March 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Marion Farquhar[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/34/12
Document Type: AWS


Dear Mrs Farquhar -

I am so sorry to hear that you are not feeling well

- Of course you must not dream of undertaking the pilgrimage until quite yourself again -

The beautiful ladie [sic] will quietly wait for you in her frame! You know that she is devoted to you and you have but to send a little bleu here appointing your own morning - Léonie[3] will have everything ready for you -

I hope you have pleasant news from the other side of the Channel? - Perhaps if the Highland Chieftain[4] is back he will be looking in!

With kindest regards to you both,
Very sincerely

J McNeill Whistler -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Call Number: [telegraph form (Fr.):]
To
M The Hon. Mrs Farquhar -
99. Ave des Champs Elysées
[stamp:] REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 50 / TELEGRAPHE
[postmark:] PARIS 96 / GD HOTEL / 9H 30 / 20 MARS / 00


Notes:

1.  [20 March 1900]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Marion Farquhar
Marion Farquhar (b. ca 1872, m. 1897), née Peck [more]. She was posing for Portrait of Miss Marion Peck (YMSM 439).

3.  Léonie
Léonie, possibly one of JW's servants.

4.  Highland Chieftain
William Richman Farquhar (m. 1897), husband of Marion Farquhar [more].

5.  Ch. Elysées
In another hand.