UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09947
Date: [24 April 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: John Lavery[2]
Place: London
Repository: Tate Gallery Archives
Call Number: Lavery Collection, TGA 7245/261
Document Type: ALS[3]


'Posted 24 April 1898'

110. Rue du Bac.
Paris.

My dear Lavery -

I am a bit astonished at hearing nothing from you in reply to these last matters - Of course you are much more busy than I am, whose occupation is merely taking care of myself! - Still, I should like to hear if you had my note about Cowan[4], and his two pictures: "The Piano[5]", & the "Thames in Ice[6]" - Did you write - & is it arranged [p. 2] I would have written myself direct - only curiously enough I have lost his present address - and a letter to his old place he has never answered -

About Shannon[7]. In looking again at your report, I notice that Shannon was not present at the Meeting - and therefore did not hear my letter read - What step was then taken? -

I would wish him to have my letter, either sent on to him to read in its entirety - or else that he be asked to come to you and Howard[8] - or indeed to the Committee and hear it read - You must not forget that Shannon is a member of the Committee from his point of view until this matter is brought before him and he have the chance of deciding - I have no doubt that he will remain with us - as any man of wit would do! - In any case it would neither be proper, nor fair to him - nor indeed to ourselves - to send him a message merely - He must have the spirit of our relations towards him officially (as entangled with another body) and our high appreciation of himself as confrère and camarade, put before in full, as considered in the letter, before he can quite understand the situation, and decide - -

[p. 3] I wired yesterday in reply to Hon. Sec's telegram - that certainly quite approve the meditated approach to H R H[9] -

Ludovici will tell you that in continuation of the steps taken by him, I have been enabled to bring you further [things?] from Paris -

Always sincerely

J McNeill Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To/
John Lavery Esq
5 - Cromwell Place
London
SW
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAIS
[postmark:] ARIS 35 R.CAMBON /[ ?] 24 / AVRIL / 98 / PARIS


Notes:

1.  [24 April 1898]
Dated from the postmark. The date is also inserted on p. 1 in another hand.

2.  John Lavery
John Lavery (1856-1941), painter [more].

3.  ALS
Written on deep bordered mourning paper. The valediction and signature are written at right-angles to the main text in the left-hand margin of p. 1.

4.  Cowan
John James Cowan (1846-1936), paper manufacturer and collector [more].

5.  The Piano
At the Piano (YMSM 24).

6.  Thames in Ice
The Thames in Ice (YMSM 36). JW exhibited this and At the Piano at the Exhibition of International Art, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1898

7.  Shannon
James Jebusa Shannon (1862-1923), genre and portrait painter [more]. JW wished to exclude Royal Academicians from the ISSPG but Shannon had been elected ARA (Associate Member of the Royal Academy) in 1897. In the end while Shannon was forced to resign from the Executive Council of the Society, he remained as an Honorary Member (see F. Howard to JW, #02319, and #02341; Dorment, Richard, and Margaret F. MacDonald, James McNeill Whistler, exhibition catalogue, Tate Gallery, London, 1994, p. 54).

8.  Howard
Francis Howard (1874-1954), painter, art critic and collector [more].

9.  H R H
Albert Edward Saxe-Coburg (1841-1910), H.R.H. The Prince of Wales [more].