UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09741
Date: [1 March 1896[1]]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[2]
Place: New York
Repository: New York Public Library
Call Number: E. G. Kennedy II/79
Credit Line: Edward Guthrie Kennedy Papers / Manuscripts and Archives Division / The New York Public Library / Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations
Document Type: ALS


My dear Kennedy -

You tell me I may call upon you - and I am going to do so at once - Send me a couple of hundred pounds if you can - and arrange it with me by and bye - as you will - Keep the little red Carmen[3] - If she is not easy of sale at this moment, she will be worth much more than that one of these days - Not that I want to fasten her upon you - I mean only as a sort of guarantee - of some kind - /

How shall I tell you! - [p. 2] You know there is but one thought for me - one hope - ! and we are ill[4] - so ill! -

These last years - What have they been but wanderings for health and recovery!

What can I say! You have known us - and you know life means with us happiness - and beautiful things - and work! - I cant write - Send the money - cable it if you can - for now I shall want all help - and by and bye we will make it right -

You know all I would say -

J McN Whistler

'I sent him a Cheque for £250/-/- on Feb. 14/96 and he had not got it when he wrote, evidently.

He always writes "we" when he means his wife. Poor soul, I fear it's all over with her, as she is said to be suffering from cancer.

E. G. K.[5]

March 13/96

when this letter was received.'


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'[13?] March 1896'

Via Southampton -

To
E. G. Kennedy - Esq
868. Broadway -
New York -
U. S. A.
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 2 1/2d
[postmark:] LONDON-WC /B 1 MAR / [96?]
[postmark on verso:] [G?] 3 13-96 / 1 9 / N. Y.


Notes:

1.  1 March 1896
Dated from the postmark and the date written in another hand on the envelope. Furthermore, mail took approximately 12 days from London to New York, and Kennedy received this letter on 13 March 1896 (see #07274).

2.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

3.  Carmen
Crimson note: Carmen (YMSM 441).

4.  we are ill
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]; who was dying of cancer.

5.  E. G. K.
This was written later by Kennedy.