The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09674
Date: 8 June 1891
Author: William Bell[1] and JW
Place: London
Recipient: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: New York Public Library
Call Number: E. G. Kennedy I/9
Credit Line: Edward Guthrie Kennedy Papers / Manuscripts and Archives Division / The New York Public Library / Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations
Document Type: ALS

21 Cheyne Walk
S. W.

June 8 1891.

Dear Sir

I am directed by Mr Whistler to write and say that in consideration of your remarks he has fixed the price of the little new plate[3] at ten guineas - for the present - He thinks however that if you take two or three proofs, you might pay him the cheque yourself without waiting for many letters across the Atlantic. For again no communication has been received by this mornings mail from New York

Yours Truly

William Bell.

P. S. I am further to say that in accordance with his intentions expressed to you the other day, Mr Whistler has already destroyed a great number [p. 2] of the plates in question, and herewith sends you the proofs as an interesting fact of reference -

Dear Mr. Kennedy -[4]

I think I shall go off to Paris tomorrow evening - so if you want to see me, would you come round at about 4. o'clock in the afternoon? -

Otherwise if you like you can arrange about proofs or any thing with William[5] here in my absence -

Always Sincerely

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  William Bell
William Bell, JW's secretary [more]. The first letter is in Bell's hand, followed by JW's letter.

2.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

3.  new plate
Probably Cameo No.1 (Mother and Child) (K.347), mentioned in Bell's letter to C. L. Freer on 6 June 1891, #11567.

4.  Dear Mr. Kennedy -
From here to the end of the letter is written in JW's hand.

5.  William
i.e. William Bell.