UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09631
Date: [3 May 1881][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Théodore Duret[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 9/546
Document Type: TLc


Mon cher Duret -

Je viens me jeter sur votre bonté et indulgence - voici ce qui m'ennuie - ce n'est qu'à l'instant même que je rencontre un ami qui me rappelle que c'est aujourd'hui que je dois dîner chez Mrs Wickham Flower[3] - un engagement pris depuis près de trois semaines! Pouvez-vous bien me pardonner et voulez-vous bien me le prouver en venant demain à l'heure convenue dîner avec moi? - Si demain ne vous va pas, disons jeudi -

Mille pardons
Tout à vous

J. McN. Whistler.

Mardi soir.


This document is protected by copyright.


Translation:

My dear Duret -

I must throw myself on your indulgence and goodness - this is what is troubling me - I have this moment met a friend who reminds me that it is today that I must dine with Mrs Wickham Flower - an engagement fixed for nearly three weeks! Can you forgive me and would you prove it by coming tomorrow at the time we agreed to dine with me? If tomorrow is not convenient for you let us say Thursday.

Many apologies.
Warmly

J. McN. Whistler.

Tuesday evening.


Notes:

1.  [3 May 1881]
Date '3/5/81' noted by Duret on original; this was a Tuesday.

2.  Théodore Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

3.  Mrs Wickham Flower
Elizabeth H. Flower (b. ca 1843), artist [more].