UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09489
Date: [1/7 June 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: George Washington Vanderbilt[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: The Biltmore Company, Ashville, North Carolina, U.S.A.
Document Type: ALS


110. Rue du Bac -

Sunday

Dear Mr Vanderbilt -

I fear I must be off again to London - so many things are waiting for me there -

Doubtless I shall turn up before the end of the week - and then we [p. 2] can arrange - We might even plan out the picture before you -

Dont however let me interfere with any of your intentions - But certainly I think we had better paint the portrait[3] in London - if possible -

With kindest regards to Sturges[4] & Yourself
Very Sincerely

J McNeill Whistler

I thought you were going to be in London all through the Jubilee[5]?

In looking at your letter[6] again, I see you are leaving town on Thursday - and that you return on the 9th[.] I doubt therefore if I see you before you go - but it would be all right for the 9th -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1/7 June 1897]
Dated broadly from reference to the painting of YMSM 481, and by Queen Victoria's Jubilee (see notes below). This letter certainly comes after #09488 (dated 20 May 1897), and the reference to the '9th' [presumably the 9th of June] suggests that this letter was written early on in June 1897.

2.  George Washington Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more].

3.  portrait
Portrait of George W. Vanderbilt (YMSM 481). See also Portrait of George Vanderbilt (M.1505).

4.  Sturges
Jonathan Sturges (1864-1911), author and translator [more].

5.  Jubilee
A reference to Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee. The sixtieth year of her reign was celebrated with a public procession from Buckingham Palace on 22 June 1897.

6.  your letter
Untraced.