UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09349
Date: [7 May 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Dighton Macnaghten Probyn[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Published
Document Type: ALS[3]


110. Rue du Bac - Paris -

Dear Sir Dighton -

I trust you may not have entirely forgotten me - nor how on former occasions you kindly helped me to bring before the Prince[4] requests like the one I again would ask you to present to Him for me! -

It is an age since I have [p. 2] had the pleasure of seeing you - but I always keep the warmest souvenir of the charming kindness shown to me, by Lady Probyn[5] and yourself in former days -

I hope to come and thank you when I get back to London -

but it is doubtful if I may travel yet - because of this horrible influenza which has had a hold upon me all through the winter -

I trust that you have not been one of its victims - and are quite well -

Believe me, dear Sir Dighton
Very Sincerely Yours

J. McNeill Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [7 May 1898]
Dated from related correspondence to D. M. Probyn and the Prince of Wales (see below).

2.  Dighton Macnaghten Probyn
Sir Dighton Macnaghten Probyn (1833-1924), Secretary to the Prince of Wales [more].

3.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border. The letter was sold at auction, Christie's, London, 9 December 1987 (lot 388). See also JW's draft letter, #13541.

4.  Prince
Albert Edward Saxe-Coburg (1841-1910), H.R.H. The Prince of Wales [more]. JW wished the Prince to open the Exhibition of International Art, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1898, on 16 or 17 May. At first he agreed, then was unable to preside but promised to 'look in' (see JW to J. Lavery, [24 April 1898], #09947; JW to Prince of Wales, #01045; Probyn to JW, 10 and 15 May 1898, #05055, and #05056).

5.  Lady Probyn
Letitia, Lady Dighton Probyn (m. 1872), née Thellusson.