The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09305
Date: [1/14 July 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Mary Newton Mann[2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Winterthur Museum Library, Winterthur, DE
Call Number: Joseph Downs Collection of Manuscripts and Printed Ephemera, Museum Archives, No. 75 x 82 #30
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac - Paris -

Dear Mrs Mann -

I grieve to say that you are quite [correct] in supposing that much occupation has retarded the fulfilment of my promise[3] - The truth is I have been away and only now on my return find your letter to remind me of what many other matters had, for the while, put out of my head - However it will be all right -

The book[4] even, if you greatly pressed, might [p. 2] go to the binders - You have only to reserve me a page - and my etching can be put in when the Album is returned to you -

One thing of importance I had quite forgotten - I want the exact size of the page - Will you kindly send me this by return, so that I may know the margin to allow the proof - and you shall have my little contribution very shortly -

With many regrets for and annoying anxiety I may have caused,
Very faithfully Yrs

J. McNeill Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1/14 July 1892]
This letter probably dates from just before #08084.

2.  Mary Newton Mann
Mary Newton Mann (1834-1917), née Harrington, mother of the artist Harrington Mann [more].

3.  promise
JW had promised to give her an etching. It is not known what etching he sent.

4.  book
A specially bound collection of artists' works, to be sold for the benefit of Queen Margaret College, a women's college which became part of the University of Glasgow in 1895 (Begg, T., The Excellent Women: the Origins and History of Queen Margaret College, Edinburgh 1994). Mary Newton Mann had undertaken to raise 400 guineas for an endowment fund, possibly for the recently founded women's medical school. The album was of watercolour and black and white 'sketches' (see correspondence between M. N. Mann and JW, #03987, #03988, #08084).