UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09255
Date: 31 May [1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Jonathon Blott[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Published
Document Type: ALS[3]


Dear Mr Blott -

I am shocked to hear from Mr Watts[4] that he has received notice from your lawyers that they are proceeding with the case - This after your assurance that you intend to treat with me in a friendly spirit is astound[ing -] Surely the lawyer must be doing this without your instructions -

I have been expecting a visit from you as you wrote[5] to say that you were coming -

[p. 2] Will you come on Monday at 2 o'clock - or half past one and let us arrange the matter as I proposed

I have seen Howell[6] who assured me you had settled with him about a picture -

But in every case you know that he is now coming into the money for his house and this liability of his will be paid off the first thing -

Pray therefor[e] stop the lawyers immediately -

Very sincerely Yours -

J A McN. Whistler.

96. Cheyne Walk - Chelsea

May 31.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  31 May [1878]
This is one of a series of letters regarding financial transactions between JW, Blott, and C. A. Howell, dating from February to June 1878 (#10340, #02183, #09002, #00309, #11161, #00310, #10055, #09255 and #07619).

2.  Jonathon Blott
Jonathon Blott (b. ca 1847), oil and colourman [more].

3.  ALS
The original was in a copy of Kennedy, Edward G., The Etched Work of Whistler, illustrated by reproductions in collotype of the different states of the plates, New York, 1910, which was sold by Sims Reed Rare Books, London, in May 1994. A partial transcription of the text was published in an unidentified sale catalogue ('3187', Glasgow University Library, pc21, p. 76).

4.  Mr Watts
Watts, possibly a lawyer or lawyer's clerk acting on JW's behalf.

5.  wrote
Unidentified letter.

6.  Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].