The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09242
Date: 27 January 1888
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Octave Maus[1]
Place: [Brussels]
Repository: Archives de l'Art Contemporain en Belgique, Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique, Bruxelles
Call Number: Fonds Vander Linden, archives Octave Maus, 5075
Document Type: ALS

[logo with crowned lion:] R. B. A.


Jan 27 1888.

Are you at all aware, my dear preoccupied Mr. Secretary, that you have never sent me the sheet of prepared paper[2] upon which to write? -

Also I have of course no longer the size of the page - or in short any guide in the matter! -

The pictures[3] have gone, by Grande Vitesse -

My etchings of Bruxelles[4] are not yet [p. 2] ready - so I send you some new ones of London[5] -

Kindly write me a line at once to say that it is all right -

I still hope to come over to see you -

Always sincerely

J. McN. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Octave Maus
Octave Maus (1856-1919), advocate, writer and art critic [more]. This letter must not be published in and form without the prior written consent of the owner. See Maus' reply, #05490, and JW to Maus, #09237.

2.  prepared paper
A reference to the catalogue of the [Exhibition], Société des XX (Vingts), Brussels, 1888. JW had been asked to design a sheet of his own listing his entries. A facsimile of this appeared in the catalogue.

3.  pictures
JW sent eight works to the exhibition. These included Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181) and St.James's Place, Houndsditch (K.290).

4.   etchings of Bruxelles
Probably from a group of etchings which date from JW's stay in Brussels during the autumn of 1887, 'Belgian set', 1887 (K.349-367) (excat 8).

5.  London
As well as St.James's Place, Houndsditch (K.290), the London etchings included The Young Tree (K.296) and The Little Nurse (K.302).