UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09220
Date: [29 November 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Albert Moore[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Private Collection
Document Type: TLc[3]


Hotel du Bon Lafontaine

My dear Albert -

your little Nocturne[4] was packed and sent off to Alexander Reid[5] 227 West George St. Glasgow on Saturday last 'Nov 26th' -

I am astonished at you not knowing this - and I trust that it is all right and after all what you wished - for I had a letter[6] from Reid on the Saturday morning in which he says: "I have bought the Nocturne from Mr. Albert Moore - that is to say there is only £10 between us which I shall concede if need be. I expect to have his reply and send him cheque tomorrow but meantime as I am urgently wanting the picture to show one of my men who leaves in the beginning of next week would you kindly hand it to Mr. Petit[7], my emballeur[8] in order that he may forward it - at once - I dare say your experience of me will warrant your relying on my word in the absence of instructions from Mr. Moore"

Shortly after the letter from Reid, a man came from Petit's, and of course I delivered to him the picture - for which I took his receipt, which I have here all right -

Please send a line at once to say that it is all quite right -

I hope also Albert that you have kept your head on this occasion and got a good price - you doubtless saw in the World a week ago and in the Pall Mall what these things of mine are now selling for and of course the one that had been bought - by Albert Moore - ought to have been a rare favorite

This must get off at once or miss the post -

Love from us - we mean you to come over & see us some day - there will be always a room for you - and we promise you shall have neither porc [sic] nor goose!

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

[postmark:] 'NOV 29 / 92'



Notes:

1.  [29 November 1892]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Albert Moore
Albert Joseph Moore (1841-1893), painter [more]. He had written to JW on 28 November 1892, #04170.

3.  TLc
This transcription is taken from a typescript copy of the original in private hands.

4.  Nocturne
Nocturne: Trafalgar Square - Snow (YMSM 173).

5.  Alexander Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more], offered Moore £80 for the Nocturne, and wrote to JW to say that he was negotiating its purchase after seeing it in JW's studio; JW sent it to Reid in Glasgow, though Moore was initially annoyed because the price was not settled. In the end Reid paid £90 for it (see Reid to JW, 25 November 1892, #05143 and 10 December 1892, #05146; Reid to Beatrix Whistler, 2 December 1892, #05145; Moore to JW, 28 November 1892, #04170, and 5 December 1892, #04172).

6.  letter
Reid's letter is dated 25 November 1892, #05143.

7.  Mr. Petit
Georges Petit (1856-1920), Paris art dealer [more].

8.  emballeur
Fr., packer.