UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09138
Date: 20 June 1890
Author: Edward W. Hooper[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Private Collection
Document Type: MsLc


Copy

9 Bolton St
Piccadilly -

June 20, 1890.

My dear Sir,

If it will not bore you to make for me a "note" of my oldest daughter[2] - a red haired girl about seventeen years old - it will give me great satisfaction to have you do so. I care only for brains, so you can give as little paint, paper or canvas as you please. [p. 2] A small full length in water color or a head in oil will content me, if you are pleased with it.

I have just come from America, and shall be in London only two weeks more, and my daughter is not very strong, so that it will not be possible to have more than ten sittings of about an hour each.

[p. 3] Either my friend Mrs Mason[3] or I will have to go with my daughter at each sitting.

As my letter of credit will not permit an outlay of more than about two hundred guineas for a "note" I beg that you will tell me if that is an insufficient sum, & that you will not in any event give me more of your time than I can fairly [p. 4] ask for.

I have said nothing to my daughter of my wish for her likeness so she will not be disappointed if you are not willing to paint her.

Truly yours

signed E W Hooper

J. McN. Whistler Esq


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Edward W. Hooper
Edward William Hooper (1839-1901), collector [more].

2.  daughter
Ellen Sturgis Hooper (b. ca 1873), later Mrs John Briggs Potter [more]. JW painted her as Portrait of Ellen Sturgis Hooper (YMSM 391).

3.  Mrs Mason
Mrs Mason, a friend of E. W. Hooper.