The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09072
Date: [1897/1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: William Slocum Davenport[2]
Place: London
Repository: Dartmouth College Library, Hanover, NH
Document Type: ALS

My dear Doctor -

A great favour! -

I am sure you will wish to help me with my work - and, without you now I cannot get on! -

I depend upon this pretty child - little Lillie Pamington[3] - "The Golden Lillie" - for the making [p. 2] of my pictures - and I send her to you in great suffering not only that her pain may be stopped at once by your magic! but especially that her mouth may not be put out of drawing & ruined for me by some "Native" to whom she would otherwise run in her agony! -

Do my dear Doctor make it all right for me - and receive my grateful thanks before hand

Always sincerely

J McNeill Whistler

Curiously enough I was going to write to you any how to ask you to come round and look at your brother's[4] portrait which I have just got over from Paris -

This document is protected by copyright.


Doctor Davenport -
7. Wimpole Street -
Cavendish Square

from J. McNeill Whistler


1.  [1897/1900]
Dated by the reference to portraits, and the stationery, with its narrow mourning border, suggesting a date after the death of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

2.  William Slocum Davenport
Dr William Slocum Davenport (1868-1938), JW's Paris dentist [more].

3.  Lillie Pamington
Lillie Pamington, artists' model [more]; she posed for several portraits, including Study for 'Brown and Gold: Lillie "In our Alley!" ' (YMSM 463) and Lillie ("YMSM 471a, b, c").

4.  brother's
Portrait of Dr Isaac Burnet Davenport (YMSM 426).