UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 09002
Date: 26 April [1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Jonathon Blott[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 16/22
Document Type: TLc[3]


Dear Mr. Blott:

From what I have seen of you I feel every confidence that you will not press too hardly upon me in Howell[4]'s matter knowing as you do the circumstances under which my liability was incurred - I am most desirous to save myself being put to law expenses, but as I have no money I propose your taking a picture of mine[5] and holding it as security till Mr. Howell pays you the amount - Will you agree to this? - and if so will you come and breakfast with me - say on Wednesday next at 11 o'clock? - and we will select the picture -

Very faithfully yours,

J. McNeill Whistler[6]

96 Cheyne Walk

April 26th.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  26 April [1878]
Dated from address and context. This is one of a series of letters regarding financial transactions between JW, Blott, and C. A. Howell, dating from February to June 1878 (#10340, #02183, #00309, #11161, #00310, #10055, #09255 and #07619).

2.  Jonathon Blott
Jonathon Blott (b. ca 1847), oil and colourman [more].

3.  TLc
The original has not been located. This was one of seven letters transcribed from original documents 'which at one time or another have passed through my hands' (note signed 'A. F. R.', 27 February 1915, GUL LB 16/0). A typed note at the top of this letter copy reads: 'Letter to Mr. Blott Cheyne Walk April 26th / Howell introduced Graves (the print dealer) to Whistler, and he agreed to reproduce the portrait of Carlyle.'

4.  Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

5.  a picture of mine
A note by the transcriber at foot of page reads: '(The picture selected was his famous portrait of Carlyle)'. Blott was involved in having Study for 'Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle' (YMSM 135) engraved and published by H. Graves and Co.

6.  J. McNeill Whistler
At this date, JW's signature would probably have read 'J. A. McNeill Whistler'.