The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08986
Date: [4/11 March 1863?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/46/1
Document Type: ALS[3]

7A Queens Road West -
Chelsea -

Wednesday evening.

Dear Rose -

Two words -

don't let your procedings [sic] with the landlord Mr. Keene[4], go farther than asking the question - So that even if answered in the affirmative, I may still be at liberty to take his house[5] or not - I mean that I do not wish to commit myself, as in the mean time something else may prove more desirable - I am not sure that I explained this, this morning [p. 2] and write now -

With many thanks
Ever Yours

J Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [4/11 March 1863?]
Dated from address and reference to 7 Lindsey Row (see below). Mondays fell on 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30 March 1863. This letter probably pre-dates #08984.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  ALS
'1' written in another hand at the top of p. 1.

4.  Keene
Isaac Henry Keene, builder, landlord of 7 Lindsey Row [more].

5.  house
No. 7 Lindsey Row, Chelsea. JW would move into the house at the end of the month after some delay in the proceedings (Isaac H. Keene to J. A. Rose, #11856). The lease began on 25 March 1863 (see Memorandum of Agreement, #12160).