The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08842
Date: [25 October 1888?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Tours]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: AL

Mr Whistler, we hear[3], has in his journeyings in sunny France, not been idle - He brings back with him some forty new etchings[4] of the finest quality. Those who have seen them, in Paris, say that the elegancies of French Renaissance have never been so exquisitely rendered as in their fairy like plates, and the world of connoisseurs and collectors look[s] forward to the printing of these latest proofs of the Master's delicacy, with anxious expectation -


We are told that the Ex President[5] is now accompanied by a new familiar in the shape of a most knowing and wicked magpie[6], who sits on his shoulder, as he etches, and doubtless imparts many mischievous thoughts in its native French - tongue

[p. 2] Upon reflection, I only send one paragraph - the other was to this effect - but you had better all right.

I enclose bill from Vigo Street[7] - Call and say that I never received the buckle and was greatly disappointed -

Now has the man sent it since we have been away? -

In any case call and say we are absent -

Are there no cuttings?

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [25 October 1888?]
This is probably the note referred to as being enclosed in JW's letter of 25 October (#08841). This is a draft of a paragraph to be planted in the press. It was written by JW.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more]. Although the letter is not addressed to Hanson, it was among a collection of letters to him bought by the Library of Congress in 1951.

3.  Mr Whistler, we hear
This snippet was published in the Pall Mall Gazette, 30 October 1888 (GUL pc10, p. 32).

4.  forty new etchings
'Belgian set', 1887 (K.349-367) (excat 8) and 'Renaissance set', 1888 (K.368-402) (excat 9).

5.  Ex President
JW had been forced to resign as President of the Royal Society of British Artists in July 1888.

6.  magpie
The magpie was called 'Coco' (see #09291).

7.  Vigo Street
Both Robert Dunthorne (b. ca 1851), of the Rembrandt Gallery, print dealer and publisher [more], and Robert Dicker (ca 1827-1900), silversmith [more], worked in Vigo Street off Regent Street, London.