UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08782
Date: [January/May 1879][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4
Document Type: ALS


THE WHITE HOUSE
CHELSEA EMBANKMENT

Saturday.

I have your note and something must be done about the writ - didn't look through all the items but believe some may be objected to - Will you come down and see your first thing on Monday morning - 9.30 - Or will you breakfast here tomorrow quite [p. 2] quietly - for once[3] there will be no one to interfere with our talking and you can smoke and clear up matters while I work in the studio -

Now write at once a line in answer to this little matter .. The Baronet[4] [illegible] sent you a cheque or draft for £.40 - 0 - 0 the other day - and told you to get the money for it - This was on a picture[5] of mine - He has drawn a cheque on you for £.25 - post dated for Wednesday next - this he gives to me - Is all this right? Can I pay that cheque in to Shave[6] (man at Arts Club whom I am bound to pay instantly) with safety - The remaining £15. might be handed in to Oetzmann[7] - ?

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [January/May 1879]
This document relates to JW's mounting debts, which culminated when he was declared 'insolvent' on 6 May 1879.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  for once
Double underlined.

4.  Baronet
It is possible this was Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more], who acquired several early drawings by JW, including Sea Beach and Figures (M.384) and Battersea (M.588); however, he may have bought these at a later date.

5.  picture
Not identified.

6.  Shave
F. Shave, one of JW's creditors in 1879.

7.  Oetzmann
JW owed F. Oetzmann and Sons £22.12.3 for the hire and maintenance of a piano (see W. H. Cubison to JW, 24 July 1878, #12024).