UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08778
Date: [July 1876/July 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4/54
Document Type: ALS[3]


'51[4]'

Dear Rose

can I see you tomorrow morning early? I will go out to Wandsworth and breakfast with you -

Ever Yours -

J A McN Whistler

96. Cheyne Walk

[p. 2] J. Anderson Rose Esq.
Dining at 3 Forster[5]. Esq
37 Ennismore Gardens

'(51)'

[p. 3] Gordon[6].
[Peter?]
[Begg?]
[Paterson?]
[Cillas?]
[Tharton?]
[Hodson?]
Graves[7]
[Gillespie]
[illeg.]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [July 1876/July 1878]
Dated by address.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  ALS
The letter was folded in three, with Rose's name on the central section of the verso, and it may have been sent by hand, without an envelope, to catch Rose, who was dining away from home.

4.  51
Numbered in another hand here and at the foot of p. 2: legal documents collected by Rose were all numbered.

5.  Forster
Matthew Forster (1826-1881), barrister, of Frere, Forster and Frere, solicitors [more], lived at this address.

6.  Gordon
This list was scrawled illegibly, almost certainly not by JW, but possibly by Rose, and perhaps lists the guests at Forster's dinner party.

7.  Graves
Possibly Henry Graves (1806-1892), print dealer and founder of H. Graves and Co. [more]. Rose was a collector of prints, and had a fine collection of JW's etchings.