UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08744
Date: [8 November 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4/20
Document Type: ALS


THE WHITE HOUSE
CHELSEA EMBANKMENT

'recd[3] 8 Novr 1878'

Dear Rose -

I will come down this evening and dine with you at 6. o'clock - for I know there is no use my asking you here to lunch - Let us fight every inch of the way - and surely a counter order might be obtained from the judge - I am not going to allow any body to come here and [p. 2] discuss and criticize my pictures[4] -

I ask who the persons are -

Are they proper experts - and do we admit them. &c. &c. &c. - - -

Besides over and above everything we maintain that it is merely a question of pure Law - and not one of criticism -

Ever Yrs

J A McN Whistler

I want Genl. Curtis Lee[5]'s address and am sending to Benjamin[6] for it - Do please tell John[7] where Benjamin is to be found -

[butterfly signature]

[p. 3] 'Whistler[8] 8 Novr 1878'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [8 November 1878]
Dated from notes on letter in another hand.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  recd ... 1878
Written in another hand.

4.  pictures
This was written during the lead-up to the libel trial of Whistler v. Ruskin at the Queen's Bench of the High Court on 25-26 November 1878. An affidavit from Robert Loveband Fulford (b. ca 1850), solicitor, of Walker, Martineau and Co. [more], to Rose dated 5 November 1878 (#12104) requested to see pictures exhibited by JW at 1st Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1877.

5.  Curtis Lee
George Washington Curtis Lee (1832-1913), army officer and University President, son of R. E. Lee [more].

6.  Benjamin
Judah Philip Benjamin (1811-1884), senator, Confederate officer and lawyer [more]. JW appears to have considered consulting him unofficially at this time and/or after the trial, because he was a compatriot and might therefore be predisposed in JW's favour (see JW's letter to Rose on 30 November 1878, #08750).

7.  John
John Cossins, JW's valet [more]. He probably delivered this letter to Rose by hand.

8.  Whistler ... 1878
Written in another hand.