UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08389
Date: [17 November 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 18/1609
Document Type: ALS[3]


'Re[ceive]d 18/11/95'

Dear Mr Thomson -

After sending off my letter[4] to you this morning I have bethought myself of quite another matter that I wish you would kindly see to -

You have never sent me the "Whistler Portfolios[5]" I was to have - I have only had one - isn't that so -

How many were you to give me? -

I wish now you would select for me the most perfect proofs and put them aside for me - as I mean to present one of the Portfolios to West Point - the Military Academy in America [p. 2] where I had the honour of being a Cadet -

I know I can leave this to you -

Very Sincerely

J McN Whistler

My dearWay[6] I have received letters from Tom


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
D. C. Thomson - Esq.
The Goupil Galleryies -
5. Regent Street
London
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND INLAND REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] LYME·REGIS / A / NO17 / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON / NO 18 / 95


Notes:

1.  17 November 1895
Dated from the postmark. The date of receipt was noted in another hand at the top of p. 1.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'57C' is written in red ink top left and '161' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1 and also on the envelope.

4.  letter
#08386.

5.  Whistler Portfolios
A set of mounted photographs, mostly of paintings that had been in Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892.

6.  Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more]. The sentence is written at the top of p. 2.