UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08386
Date: [17 November 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 18/1610-1
Document Type: ALS[3]


Dear Mr. Thomson -

How do the frames get on? - I begin to hope that I shall get away from here soon now - so that they had better be ready - & then I may want two or three small ones - of which I would give the pattern on coming to town -

Lithographs - You might talk to Mr Huish[4] or Mr. Brown[5] - telling them that you propose an article on the Exhibition & would [p. 2] like a couple for illustration - and you could say that I am quite pleased you should have them

I[6] make it an irrevocable condition that Mr Wedmore[7] does not write the article.

So that's all right - and Messrs. Way[8] would then make a transfer from the stones as usual -

Sarasate[9] - You ask about a reproduction for some work upon musicians - I should be willing - only as I understand the measurements sent, the proposed plate is much too large -

The photograph should not be any larger than those in the Portfolio of the other portraits - [p. 3] (2.) indeed that is almost too large -

What about the picture itself? - Who is to have it? - I had understood Prange[10] to say that it was quite a settled matter -

I sent you the Interview from the Paris "Journal". Did you get it? and have you read it? -

When you see the Baronet[11], [p. 4] you had better ask him if his friends have congratulated him upon the last verdict of the French Courts? -

The Exhibition[12] next March is looking up - I wonder what you will think of the pictures when you see them finished! I shall want a lot of gold! -

[butterfly signature]

You[13] had better begin to think of what you can do to the gallery - I don't mean for decoration, but to make it look more serious. Those two rooms in the old place had something so much more dignified about them. Great pity you ever left.

I have thought of a lot of things! for the show! I must be "Amazing"!!

'Rec'd 18/11/95'[14]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
D. C. Thomson - Esq
The Goupil Galleries
5. Regent Street
London -
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / HALF PENNY
[postmark:] LYME·REGIS / A / NO 17 / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S.W. / F * A / NO 18 / 95


Notes:

1.  17 November 1895
Dated from the postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'71C' is written in another hand in red at top left and '166' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1, and also on the envelope.

4.  Mr Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

5.  Mr. Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

6.  Messrs. Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more]; and Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

7.  I
'I make ... article' is written in the top margin of p. 2.

8.  Mr Wedmore
Frederick Wedmore (1844-1921), art critic [more].

9.  Sarasate
Arrangement in Black: Portrait of Señor Pablo de Sarasate (YMSM 315); this was wanted as a reproduction in Seidl, Anton, The Music of the Modern World, New York, 1895; see Thomson's letter to JW, 12 November 1895, #05829.

10.  Prange
Francis Gerard Prange (b. ca 1843), London art dealer [more].

11.  Baronet
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

12.  Exhibition
An exhibition of JW's paintings, possibly of Lyme Regis, was abandoned, probably because of the illness of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

13.  You
'You had ... left' is written in the margins of p. 1, and 'I have ... amazing"!!' in the left margin of p. 4, at right angles to the main text.

14.  'Rec'd 18/11/95'
The date of receipt is written in another hand on pp. 2 and 4.