UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08340
Date: [13 April 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection PWC 3
Document Type: ALS[3]


33. Rue de Tournon. Paris -

Dear Sir -

Owners - Will write as you suggest -

Mr. Chapman[4]. Arrives in Paris today or tomorrow. and I understand will most probably do as I wish - Wherefore send me, by return, the outside measurement of the frames of No 16. (Nocturne Chelsea Snow) - and No 24 (Bognor). that I may give them to the hanging Committee of the Champs de Mars.

Mrs Peter Taylor[5]. No. 15. (The Ocean) I want the outside measurement of this picture too - Also of Mrs Leylands[6] No 9 (Nocturne Blue & Silver) - Also, Mr Potter's[7] No 21. (Blue Wave. Biarritz). Also - No 33. (The little White Girl) Also No. 6 (Trafalgar Square - A Moore[8]) This last I think you might yourself ask Mr Moore to let you send over - I am sure that as my old friend he would be pleased to let you do [so] -

Huth[9] I will write -

Catalogues - I suppose you are right - and that for the moment we may let them alone -

The Duke of M.[10] - I wrote to yesterday and have this morning received the letter which I enclose for your private perusal - Of course you will say nothing about having seen it - and you will [p. 2] return it to me - but it will show you how the land lies - You can say that these full lengths are now valued at 2000 - and then you can propose that doubtless I would however paint the two portraits for 3000. gs.

In short you have carte blanche to make some proposal that shall turn out well.

This matter is entirely between ourselves and I should not think of using your time and tact unless you will allow me to recognise them as I should had I anyone else to manage such business for me -

Telegrams - I have received your answer. All right about The Lady Meux[11] picture - they want it here - and there is no use troubling her further about it as she promised from the beginning that I should have it for Paris -

The Fur Jacket, I thought I had explained in my previous letter is to go to Münich - Mr Ullrich[12] whom I saw here for the Committee, told me that they would send for it - Of course the Government pays for all that they transport - and also insure everything - so that I am to have no expense -

[p. 3] Easter - I hope you will have a pleasant holliday - You certainly deserve one -

Don't you think that before you go, you might pay any monies you have for me into my account at Messrs Drummond[13] tomorrow?

Album . I am most anxious to see the proofs - and wonder how the Lange Leizen[14] would come out with all the Yellow - . The photograph of the Portrait of my Mother[15] might be the one already taken hereby Boussod & Valladon [sic] - Have you sold any copies? - How do the Nocturnes come out? -

I think this is all for the moment - Have you seen Mr Sickert[16]? He has never sent me his article -

With best wishes
Very truly Yrs

J McN Whistler

? Do you know if Burlington House was further compromised? -

Reproductions of Carlyle[17] - This was done by the Pall Mall Gazette - Mr George Thompson[18] would tell you all about them - I wish you would tell Mr Paton[19] that I have one framed for him all right but what with much travelling etc. it has been delayed - however [p. 4] he shall have it directly -

[date stamp:] GOUPIL AND COMPANY
14 APR. 92
SUCCESSORS / BOUSSOD VALADON & CO.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
D. C. Thomson. Esq.
Goupil Galleries
116. 117. New Bond Street
London .
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 25
[stamp:] POSTE / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 15
[postmarks x 3:] PARIS-6 R. DE VAUGIRARD / E1 13 / AVRIL / 92 [on verso: 2 illegible postmarks:] Private


Notes:

1.  [13 April 1892]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'3' was written in red ink at the head of p.1 and on the envelope, '29' also on envelope, and '29' at the end of p.1 in pencil, in unknown hands.

4.  Mr. Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

5.  Mrs Peter Taylor
Mrs Peter Taylor, wife of the collector [more], who had owned Symphony in Grey and Green: The Ocean (YMSM 72).

6.  Mrs Leylands
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more].

7.  Mr Potter's
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more].

8.  A Moore
Albert Joseph Moore (1841-1893), painter [more].

9.  Huth
Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more].

10.  Duke of M.
George Charles Spencer-Churchill (1844-1892), 8th Duke of Marlborough [more].

11.  The Lady Meux
Harmony in Pink and Grey: Portrait of Lady Meux (YMSM 229).

12.  Mr Ullrich
Charles Frederic Ulrich (1858-1908), genre painter [more].

13.  Messrs Drummond
JW's bankers.

14.  Lange Leizen
Purple and Rose: The Lange Leizen of the Six Marks (YMSM 47).

15.  Portrait of my Mother
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).

16.  Mr Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

17.  Carlyle
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137).

18.  Mr George Thompson
George Thomson, journalist [more].

19.  Mr Paton
James W. Paton (1843-1921), Curator of the Glasgow Industrial Museum [more].