UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08302
Date: [27 March 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS[3]


110. Rue du Bac - Paris

My dear Mr. Thomson -

Now if you want to help me, I tell you what you do - I was assured that Sir W. Eden[4] was attempting the other day to sell the portrait of his son, or daughter, I forget which - the one by Swann[5] I suppose - Do you know anything about this? - If not among others offered for purchase to to you, find out at once if the picture was for sale - with perhaps the price - and let me know by tomorrows post - If quite positive already, then just wire me tomorrow morning "Yes - portrait, son, (or daughter) was offered by E. for sale. price...."

Did you get French papers I sent you? -

Always sincerely

J McN. Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
D. C. Thomson. Esq
Goupil's Galleries
5. Regent Street -
London -
[stamp:] POSTE / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 25
[postmark:] PARIS 80 / R. DU BAC / 8E | 27 / MARS / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S.W. / EH * P / MR 28 / 95


Notes:

1.  [27 March 1895]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'12A' written in another hand in red ink at top left and '131' in pencil at bottom right of p.1, and also on the envelope.

4.  Sir W. Eden
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

5.  Swann
John Macallan Swan (1847-1908), animal painter and sculptor [more]. He had indeed painted Eden's daughter and Eden had tried to sell the portrait: J. M. Swan, Portrait of the daughter of Sir William Eden (z287); see the letter from E. J. van Wisselingh to JW, 29 March 1895, #07104.