The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08254
Date: [20 July 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS[3]

110. Rue du Bac - Paris -

Dear Mr Thomson -

I write this in the street! at a Cafe - with horrid pen - or pin, rather, so can't say much - Only I acknowledge cheque for shillings[4] - and all is well - that is as well as can be with this house of yours -

Of course they ought to have done as you wished them to, and handed you the full sum [p. 2] at once -

I have had a letter from Mr Dignam[5] who tells me how kind you have been - and all the trouble you have taken - How nice of you -

Tell him I shall write to him directly - meanwhile I quite approve of what he is doing -

We leave for the sea side tomorrow or the next day - and now do you really think you could at once get good people with good prices for "Marines[6]" "Chevalet pieces" etc!? -

You had better tell me all about the Potter[7] business - I do hope the things will be bought here - I want nothing to remain in England - Scotland is another thing -

Later on you must get the "Bognor" from Mr. Chapman[8] of Liverpool - However there is no hurry -

I cannot write more with this thing! - I am touching up the pastel[9] tomorrow morning - and then you must tell Joyant[10] to send for it and put the frame right and pack it and send it back to you - and "mark with a T." I ought to have said!

[butterfly signature]

[date stamp:] GOUPIL & COMPANY
21 JUL. 93

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [20 July 1893]
The date stamp for receipt of the letter is '21 July 1893', so it is likely that the letter was written on the day previous to this.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'9C' is written in another hand in red ink at top left, and '71' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1.

4.  cheque for shillings
Thomson had enclosed the shillings cheque in his letter of 18 July 1893 (see #05786) after JW had implied that Thomson's previous cheque (sent with #05785) had been made out for £25 rather than 25 guineas in order to deprive the artist of the extra amount.

5.  Mr Dignam
Michael J. Hoey Dignam (fl. 1893), illustrator [more].

6.  Marines
A selection of photographs of oil paintings, published by Goupil's, mostly those exhibited at Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892. JW signed the deluxe sets with his name and butterfly signature.

7.  Potter
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more]; who owned Blue and Silver: Blue Wave, Biarritz (YMSM 41), Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), Grey and Silver: Chelsea Wharf (YMSM 54) and Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Cremorne Lights (YMSM 115), was selling his paintings.

8.  Mr. Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more], owned Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Bognor (YMSM 100).

9.  pastel
Venice (M.824).

10.  Joyant
Maurice Joyant (1864-1930), art dealer, manager of Boussod, Valadon et Cie [more].