UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08208
Date: [11 April 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 16/1440
Document Type: ALS[3]


33. Rue de Tournon - Paris -

Dear Sir -

I am afraid that my letter[4] of yesterday will not have reached you this morning - So that it will come with this one -

Album. I am glad to find you of my opinion that simple photographs are the best - They certainly seem to me much pleasanter to look at -

Price etc. All will depend upon the get up of the volume or Portfolio or whatever it may be - You know that whatever I design is happily of the simplest character & not expensive -

This work must be perfect of its kind - [p. 2] and thoroughly characteristic -

However first I must see the photographs themselves -

Visitors - Painters etc[5]. . who now come, as did Mr. Watts[6] (R A.), and as might come others from all sorts of head quarters - for the purpose of spying out the nakedness of the land - Well as they can no longer see the Exhibition in its impressive entirety, they had much better not see a mere portion in a haphasard way -

So I would say that it is now all over -

Only show as a matter of business to business intending people the one or two things for sale -

Lithographs - I forget whether I mentioned that I sent one more than your list contained - "The Reading Girl[7]" -

Have they arrived yet? -

Very truly Yrs

J McN. Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [11 April 1892]
This is a reply to Thomson's letter of 9 April 1892, #05718. It is dated from the reference to 'yesterday' [Sunday 10 April]; see below.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. He had organised JW's exhibition, Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892, which closed on 9 April.

3.  ALS
'32B' was written at the top of p.1, in red ink, in an unknown hand and '36' at the bottom of p.1.

4.  letter
#08343, dated 'Sunday' [10 April 1892].

5.  etc
Triple underlined.

6.  Mr. Watts
George Frederick Watts (1817-1904), painter and sculptor [more].

7.  The Reading Girl
Probably The Novel: Girl Reading (C.32) or The Little Nude Model, Reading (C.33).