UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 08118
Date: [September 1888?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris?]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection PWC 1
Document Type: ALS


When you are writing to me you ought always to have my last letter before you so that you might refer to either what I had asked you, or what I had told you to do - and so you would be reminded of each thing in its turn, and could easily answer any question I might have put -

Now had n't I already written to say that Webb[3] was to have the care of things that would not be stowed in the Tower House? - or Grau[4]? - especially the frame of the Dixey picture[5] - However it will be all right I daresay people are not going to pay the 25 £? -

You say no more about Mr Huth[6] - - You must go there again and ask him kindly to lend his pastels for the Exhibition[7] at the Grosvenor - Refer to your letter on the subject and you will see what to say -

Also Mr Jas. Forbes[8] -

I cannot write any more tonight -

J McN. Whistler

It is quite the result of your own foolish interference that you now have to take your room outside, instead of in the Tower House - .

[p. 2] with Silvester[9] - only what does he ask for warehousing? -

I certainly had written to say that Webb had better go on with the repairing (according to marked items) -

About the Shannon & Ricketts[10] affair I think you have done exceeding well - Take the cheque or money and pay it in to my account at Drummonds -

Remember what I told you about the Dowdeswells[11] and by the way generally don't give my address - say that we are travelling about the Continent, visiting -

I send you enclosed cheque for one pound which you must hold in hand most carefully for I am afraid things are very uncertain at the bank -

Am I then to understand that the Mifflin Houghton[12] [text breaks off]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [September 1888?]
Dated from reference to JW's travels. JW was in France on a working honeymoon, after his marriage to Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], on 11 August. Also dated from reference to the Grosvenor exhibition (see note below) which opened in October 1888. This letter seems to relate to an earlier letter to Hanson, #08810.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Webb
Webb, possibly George or William Webb, lawyers.

4.  Grau
Frederick H. Grau (d. 1894/1895), picture framer [more].

5.  Dixey picture
Portrait of Henry E. Dixey (YMSM 356).

6.  Mr Huth
Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more].

7.  Exhibition
Exhibition of Pastels, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1888.

8.  Mr Jas. Forbes
James Staats Forbes (1823-1904), railway manager and collector [more].

9.  Silvester
Not identified.

10.  Shannon & Ricketts
Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more], and Charles de Sousy Ricketts (1866-1931), painter and designer [more]. The two men succeeded JW as tenants of No. 2, The Vale, off the King's Road, known as the 'Pink Palace.'

11.  Dowdeswells
C. W. or one of his sons, Charles and Walter Dowdeswell, of Dowdeswell and Dowdeswell, art dealers.

12.  Mifflin Houghton
The first American edition of the 'Ten O'Clock' was published by the Boston firm of Houghton Mifflin & Co on 26 May 1888. See account dated 1 August, #02170.