UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07911
Date: [17 January 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: [St Ives]
Recipient: Charles William Deschamps[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/23/7
Document Type: ALS


'17/1/84[3]'

'9'    '13'

My dear Deschamps -

I am awfully sorry to have given such a lot of trouble - but -

1st - I did get your letter as you suppose on Sunday - and immediately did sit down and write you the elaborate answer[4] you should have received the next morning (Monday) at 9 o.'clock.

Well - the mails it appears go in very indifferent way from this hole in Cornwall -

Never mind - you have done very well and it is all right now - thanks to you

The Société[5] ought to [p. 2] pay the assurance as the Committee of the Rue de Sèze[6] did - All expenses of packing & journey I know that they undertake - and of course if they wont pay the policy business I must - but it is very bad form in them if they don't -

I hope that you have made Mons. Maus[7] quite understand that you are acting entirely for me in this matter and that I am absent and far away or would write to thank them for their courtesy -

About the catalogue - I want especially to insist upon my peculiar nomenclature -

Everything is right except the Alexander picture[8] - that should be -
"Arrangement en Gris et vert -
Portrait de Mlle Alexandre - "

Let Maus understand that the "Arrangement" & "Symphonie" etc . . . must not be shirked as it was in the Salon Catalogue[9] -

I think there must be some mistake about the Potter[10][.] My Potter is Gerald Potter. 2. Ennismore Gardens. Princes Gate [p. 3] They are old friends of mine and I have heard nothing of their moving - may be out of town though - as to Liverpool[11] I also have heard nothing -

After all I dare say the four pictures & the etchings[12] will make a very good show - so we will be content -

Shall be up in town soon - and will at once make you come down to Studio & see - -

What do you perceive on the horizon? -

Always

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [17 January 1884]
Dated in another hand.

2.  Charles W. Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

3.  17/1/84
The date, '9' and '13' are written in different hands.

4.  the elaborate answer
JW's letter was written on 11 January 1884 (#07909). Deschamps' letter has not been located.

5.  Société
Société des Vingt (XX).

6.  Rue de Sèze
Exposition Internationale de Peinture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1883.

7.  Mons. Maus
Octave Maus (1856-1919), advocate, writer and art critic [more], was the moving force behind the Société des XX, and invited JW to contribute to their first exhibition in 1884.

8.  Alexander picture
Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander (YMSM 129).

9.  Salon Catalogue
102nd exhibition, Ouvrages de peinture, sculpture, architecture, gravure et lithographie des artistes vivants, Palais des Champs Elysées, Paris, 1884 (cat. no. 2454) as 'Portrait de Miss Alexander'.

10.  Potter
John Gerald Potter (1829-1908), wallpaper manufacturer and patron [more].

11.  Liverpool
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more], JW's major patron in Liverpool.

12.  four pictures & the etchings
Octave Maus invited JW to contribute to their first exhibition in 1884. JW sent Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61), Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Chelsea (YMSM 103), Arrangement in Brown and Black: Portrait of Miss Rosa Corder (YMSM 203), Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander (YMSM 129) and Venice etchings (see list by Maus, #07910).