The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07619
Date: [4 June 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Jonathon Blott[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/6/1
Document Type: ALS[3]

Dear Mr. Blott -

The picture[4] shall be taken to you tomorrow (Wednesday, June 5th) at about 12 or 1 o'clock. Please have someone there to receive it, as I understand that when you are out others in the same building are quite indifferent and it would not do [to] leave the picture with them.

Sincerely yours with many thanks for your amiability,

J A McN Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [4 June 1878]
The following day, 5 June, referred to by JW, fell on a Wednesday in 1878.

2.  Jonathon Blott
Jonathon Blott (b. ca 1847), oil and colourman [more]. This is one of a series of letters regarding financial transactions between JW, Blott, and C. A. Howell, dating from February to June 1878 (#10340, #02183, #00309, #09002, #11161, #00310, #10055, #09255 and #07619).

3.  ALS
The letter is accompanied by an entry from an unidentified sale catalogue, lot 1359, which prints the text.

4.  picture
Possibly Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). Blott may have been involved in depositing the painting with H. Graves and Co. for publication of an engraving. The sale catalogue entry for the letter, referred to above, states that the picture was the 'portrait of Carlyle, which Mr. Blott was taking from the artist in payment of a debt.'