UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07560
Date: [January 1864?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: John O'Leary[2]
Place: [Dublin?]
Repository: Dublin Castle, Dublin, Eire, State Papers Office
Call Number: Fenian Briefs 1865-9 No. 1, d, Env. 10, No. 1, 30
Document Type: ALS


Dear John -

Just got back[3]. Do[4] come tonight - tea and coffee and smoke and lots to tell you -

Jim Whistler -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'John O'Leary Esq[5]
16 Palmerston Place
Dublin'
'15 Sept. / No. 30 PK'
[postmark:] LONDON. N.W / A4 / JA21 / 64


Notes:

1.  [January 1864?]
It is apparent that, when JW wrote this letter, he assumed that O'Leary was in London, which suggests a date of early 1863, before O'Leary returned to Dublin, or early 1864. The envelope filed with the letter is not addressed in JW's hand, and is not necessarily linked with the letter, so the postmark of 21 January 1864 may not be relevant to the date of JW's letter. On the other hand, this letter may have been filed in date order, and date from around January 1864. It was with other documents seized at the time of O'Leary's arrest for treason, on 15 September 1865. The date of 15 September added on the envelope is likely to be connected with his arrest, and it also appears, with the same initials, on #09333. See Anderson, Ronald, Whistler - the Unexplored Irish Factors, M.A. thesis, University of St. Andrews, 1985, pp. 254-58.

2.  John O'Leary
John O'Leary (1830-1907), Irish nationalist and journalist [more].

3.  just got back
JW travelled a lot between 1863 and 1865. Quite apart from local trips, in December 1862 he was in the Basses-Pyrénées; in May and August 1863, and early in 1864, Holland; and in June 1863, March 1864 and early 1865, Paris. His lightning trip to Rotterdam early in 1864 is the nearest in date to the postmark of the envelope filed with this letter.

4.  Do
Double underlined.

5.  John O'Leary
The address is written in another hand, and '15 Sept ... PK' in a third hand.