The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07552
Date: 2 October [1877][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James John Heywood[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H352
Document Type: MsLS[3]

Tuesday Oct 2d

Dear Sir.

I know that my Etchings have a place in your valuable collection - & so I write to tell you that I have again taken up my Copper plates - & have just produced some Dry points[4] - quite new - they are curiously delicate in quality & will consequently give very few impressions - Will you come & see [p. 2] them? I shall not be leaving town just yet - & will be delighted to see you in my Studio - & show you my work.

Very Faithfully Yours

J A McN. Whistler

96 Cheyne Walk

This document is protected by copyright.



The Revd James John Heywood. M A
22 Bedford Place
Russell Square
[postmark:] CHELSEA / S. W. / 2 2 / OC 2 / 77
[postmark (on verso):] LONDON. W.C / G O / OC 2 / 77

'J [D?] Heywood'[6]


1.  2 October [1877]
Year date taken from postmark.

2.  James John Heywood
Rev. James John Heywood (1827?-1887), MA, print collector [more].

3.  MsLS
The envelope and letter, except for the signature, are written in the hand of Mary Maud Franklin (1857- ca 1941), JW's model and mistress [more]. The letter and envelope are now affixed to a stiff piece of brown card.

4.  Dry points
Etchings and drypoints sold at this time, including such recent works as Lindsey Houses (K.166), are listed in JW's ledger; see for instance, his account with C. A. Howell for 12 October to 5 November 1877 (#12735).

5.  'Whistler'
Written in another hand.

6.  'J [D?] Heywood'
Written on reverse of envelope, in pencil.