The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07510
Date: [18 November 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: William Heinemann[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler X80a
Document Type: ALdfS[3]

This is no mere easy ingratitude on my part as a friend. Of far deeper more revolting greater magnitude is the crime villainy - I will not stop to dilate upon it - suffices to say that Napoleon & I do these things! - And France shall have the Baronet[4] first! - and indeed the refusal should be hers - who has already provided presided at his toilette!

J. McN. Whistler

Courage mon ami[5] ! à un de ces jours

As to New York - I must leave that entirely to yourself -

You tell me that they meant well - and naturally steeped themselves in crime

Your saddened fre

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [18 November 1898]
For the date, see #02257.

2.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

3.  ALdfS
This is a partial draft of #02257. The main body of this letter is written in black ink, but JW's signature and postscript, written in pencil, appear to be later insertions. A second draft letter is written on the verso (JW to a newspaper editor, #13256).

4.  Baronet
This relates to the publication of Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: The Baronet and the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, Paris and New York, 1899 [GM, A.24], JW's account of his dispute with Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more], over Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408), a portrait of Eden's wife. For the full letter, see JW to W. Heinemann, #02257.

5.  Courage mon ami
'Courage ... jours', Fr., Courage, my friend! we shall meet again.