The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07395
Date: [11 August 1883][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Walter Théodore Watts-Dunton[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1383
Document Type: ALS

'11 Aug 1883'[3]

448. Fulham Road[4] -

Theodore you must come here and see me tomorrow for I am not well - and after my manner have at once taken to my bed - but oh I must not be neglected! - so come tomorrow at about 12 or one o'clock and you shall be given lunch - or come later and they shall [p. 2] brew you the tea without which you are still charming! -

But come you must - for on Sunday you must be enabled to report with authority from head quarters - and last last [sic] Sunday you played me false and left me to struggle alone with the Cab man! -

[butterfly signature] rather down!

This document is protected by copyright.


Theodore Watts Esq
"The Pines" -
Putney Hill


[postmark:] LONDON - S. W / 7 / AU 11 / 83


1.  [11 August 1883]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Walter Théodore Watts-Dunton
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more].

3.  '11 Aug 1883'
Added on top of letter, in pencil, in an unknown hand.

4.  448. Fulham Road
Underlined three times. The occupant of this address is unknown. JW moved to 454 Fulham Road in October 1884.

5.  'Whistler'
Written in another hand, probably that of Watts-Dunton, in lower left-hand corner of envelope. In pencil.