UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07381
Date: [6 July 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Walter Théodore Watts-Dunton[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1369
Document Type: ALS


'6 July 1878'[3]

Tomorrow at Way's[4] - (21. Wellington Street) at about one o'clock -

Goodnight Pic[5] my Pal! I've got no stamps - I cost you a lot of money though don't I! - some by the way I am going to pay you back in a day or two -

Mind now you come - and we will lunch [p. 2] down there together -

Also must talk about Various[6] -

Always Yours

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Theodore Watts Esq -
Ivy Lodge -
Werter Road -
Putney -
[rubber stamped:] '2d'
[postmark (on verso):] LONDON - S. W / Z 7 / JY 6 / 78


Notes:

1.  [6 July 1878]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Walter Théodore Watts-Dunton
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more]. JW did not buy a stamp for this or his previous letter (#07380). As a result each letter cost Watts-Dunton two pence (2d) instead of one penny, which he could ill afford.

3.  '6 July 1878'
Added in another hand, in pencil.

4.  Way's
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more]. He prepared and printed the lithographic stones for JW's lithotints, The Toilet (C.10) and The Broad Bridge (C.11), which were drawn for Piccadilly: Town and Country Life and published on 4 and 11 July 1878 (see #11136).

5.  Pic
'Pic' was short for 'Piccadilly'. Watts-Dunton was editor of the short-lived weekly Piccadilly: Town and Country Life, which was launched in May and failed in July 1878.

6.  Various
JW's terms for business and financial affairs.