The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07342
Date: 23 February 1892
Author: Madeline Wyndham[1]
Place: Salisbury
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1330
Document Type: ALS


Feb. 23d 1892.


Dear Mr Whistler

I only received your letter this morning, & write to say that we shall be too happy to lend the picture[2] to the Gallery[3] - but I have a sad statement to make to you [p. 2] which is that the Picture has met with a serious accident & had a hole run thro it - we were going to get Dyer[4] to repair it & this ought to be done before it is exhibited, shall I write to Mr Dyer [p. 3] & tell him to take the Picture [,] repair it, & then send it to the Gallery.

When does the Picture Gallery open? Would you like to call & see the damage & decide this question[?] We are very fond of the picture & very much [p. 4] distressed at the accident = but from the back it can be repaired let me know if you would rather have it done before the Exhibition or after by return of Post.

I enclose a line for the Housemaid at 44[5]. to let you see the Picture

Believe me
yrs most truly

Madeline Wyndham

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Madeline Wyndham
Madeline Caroline Frances Eden Wyndham (1835-1920), née Campbell, artist [more].

2.  picture
Nocturne: Grey and Gold - Westminster Bridge (YMSM 145). It was repaired by Stephen Richards (b. ca 1845), picture restorer [more] (see JW's reply #07343, dated 25 February).

3.  Gallery
For Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892.

4.  Dyer
William Dyer (b. ca 1821), picture restorer and art dealer [more].

5.  44
The Wyndham's London house was at 44 Belgrave Square.