The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07324
Date: 14 May 1900
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: Stuttgart
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1312
Document Type: ALS


May 14th 1900.
9 a.m.

My dear friend,

Here I am once more in the land of Sauer Kraut and gutterals, beer and sausages!

As to your letter[2] which I have just received (no date) I will reply seriatum[3]. Competition in Durer[4] drawings is [aiming?] to a craze just now, but they have always fetched good prices, & are now extremely scarce. Any letter sent to Terminus would have been forwarded to me here. I cannot say exactly when I shall be in Paris, as so much depends on circumstances, but in about two weeks, I should say.

However I'll let you know in plenty of time, so make no plans. There is nothing to report in [p. 2] regard to conversation with any one as to opinions of your pictures. What does it matter? My conversation with Caldwell[5] was general, though I said how well Whistler's pictures appeared, with which opinion he cordially agreed.

He was in haste then, and so was I. When I return I shall be more liesurely [sic].

Macomber of Boston[6], I never heard of. Look out for small fry dealers & if they buy, see that they put down or put up, the cash.

I am off to the Sale, so au revoir for the present.

Sincerely yours,

O'K -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more]. JW called him O'K.

2.  your letter
#09800; see Kennedy's earlier letter, 8 May 1900, #07323.

3.  seriatum
Lat., seriatum, in order, one at a time.

4.  Durer
Albrecht Durer (1471-1528), artist [more].

5.  Caldwell
John Caldwell, Board Chairman, Carnegie Art Galleries [more].

6.  Macomber of Boston
Frank Gair Macomber (1849-1941), collector [more].