The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07317
Date: 4 August 1899
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Pourville-sur-mer]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1305
Document Type: ALS



Aug. 4 1899

My dear friend,

I have yours of the 3rd. I fear that long residence on the island has made you take things too literally. I[3] am not going on a holiday, I have too much to do, but I thought that in order to prevent disappointment, in case you came over, I would tell you, or remind you of the conditions of things.

I thought that you were coming over in order to go to Holland via London, and perhaps [p. 2] see OK, Pennell[4] &c. on the way. I have got a lot of lithos. from Mrs. Anderson[5] and as you have signed mine heretofore, I presume that you will do the same with these, as there are quite a number. Can I not have some of these etchings that came from the International Exhibition[6]? Please let me know. When you go to the Consuls to present the papers for the pictures, (all made out & at Lauser's) the lithographs are included & can go at same time. Lauser will drive you down & drive you back[.] [p. 3] You may remember that you kindly promised to do this. As soon as the money comes, I have instructed Lauser to give you £200/-/- on a/c - so by the time you are here, no doubt it will be here too.

"The Pool Rotherhithe[7]" is the property of Gamet Hutton[8], the wild North of Ireland man who married Miss Winans[9]. The other one I shall find out about, when I go to Baltimore again, but I think Ross Winans[10] has it, though George Whistler[11] may have it yet.

I shall be very glad to get these pictures for you if I can; but to what exhibition[12] do you [p. 4] allude when you say "my Exhibition"?

I shall have list of etchings made and send it, and as an evidence of good faith, will leave the 200/-/- for you, as aforesaid. -

I really do not see how I can go to Dieppe. I must leave here on Tuesday surely[13]. I could only go over on Sunday & be back here on Monday night, & if I had one - not to speak of two rough crossings, I would be a wreck, for I'm a very poor sailor, & dread sea-sickness. If, however, you want me, I will go as above, in answer to a telegram, marked sent to "Delicious" simply saying "Come".

I will tell them at Garlant's[14]. I did not send a telegram today as it would only have confused [p. 5][15] matters. I am going to see the Pennells'[16] once more this Evening to say Good bye.

Expecting a line, I am, as always
Sincerely Yours


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more]. JW called him O'K. This is a reply to JW's letter, [3 August 1899], #09796.

Gustave Lauser (b. ca 1841), London print-seller [more].

3.  I
Double underlined.

4.  Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

5.  Mrs. Anderson
Mrs Christine Anderson, manager of the 'Company of the Butterfly' [more].

6.  International Exhibition
2nd Exhibition, Pictures, Drawings, Prints and Sculptures, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1899.

7.  The Pool Rotherhithe
Wapping (YMSM 35).

8.  Hutton
Gamet Hutton.

9.  Miss Winans
Celeste Winans (1823-1861), née Revillon, wife of Thomas De Kay Winans [more].

10.  Ross Winans
Ross Winans, Jr, brother of W. and T. De Kay Winans [more].

11.  George Whistler
George Washington Whistler (1800-1849), engineer, JW's father [more].

12.  exhibition
Kennedy had implied he was organising an exhibition at the Grolier Club, New York.

13.  surely
Double underlined.

14.  Garlant's
A hotel JW liked to stay at while in London.

15.  [p. 5]
The printed address header is repeated at the top of this page (as on page one).

16.  Pennells'
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926) and his wife Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographers.