UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07297
Date: 6 June 1898
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: Tours
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1285
Document Type: ALS


HOTEL DE L'UNIVERS
TOURS
EUGÈNE GUILLAUME, PROPRE
TÉLÉPHONE

June 6th 1898.

Cher maitre;

I had commenced this when I bethough[t] me that I had not to struggle with an epistle in French. I hate to write en voyage. I will see you in Paris when I return, meantime I have said that if I receive anything over £600 /- /- I shall be glad to share it with you. I cannot ask more, nor indeed as much as that, as I see my way now. As to the marine, my bank a/c has run out, & I must know how I stand.

I never buy anything that I cannot pay for at once if necessary, & as I do not know [p. 2] how the firm's accounts stand I must wait.

You have not answered any of my questions, nor given me any satisfaction. Please read my letter[2] again & say what you will do - categorically; - in regard to the other things. This is a charming and most delightful Country as you know. How much for the Shop[3] & the marine[4]? Besides I want to see the nudes[5], in London, before doing anything further.

I think if you should visit the U. S. only for a day, it would be advantageous, as, for instance, Vanderbilt[6] must pay 20 per cent on his portrait. I must pay, & others also. This seems hard, but if you take a voyage for your health, we shall reap the benefit of it, and you also. You shall will see the U. S. [p. 3] again, be the lion of the hour - for which you do not care - and remove the handicap from your clients.

When will you be in London?

Excuse haste, also fatigue.

I will write before I reach Paris.

As ever
Sincerely Yours,

O'K -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  my letter
Probably E. G. Kennedy to JW, 4 June 1898, #07296.

3.  Shop
This is probably the work referred to by JW as the 'little shop at Hull' in #07296.

4.  marine
Probably Harmony in Blue and Silver: Beaching the Boat, Étretat (YMSM 483) (see #09779).

5.  nudes
Unidentified.

6.  Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more]. In the spring of 1897, Vanderbilt asked JW to paint his portrait (see Portrait of George W. Vanderbilt (YMSM 481) and the study Portrait of George Vanderbilt (M.1505)). See also G. Vanderbilt to JW, letter dated 18 May 1897, #05914, and JW's reply, #09488.