UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07278
Date: 14 April 1896
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1266
Document Type: ALS


E. G. KENNEDY
G. DIETERLEN

[scroll:] H. WUNDERLICH & CO.
H W & CO.
RARE PRINTS
868 B'WAY N- Y-

April 14 1896,

Dear Mr. Whistler,

I hope to be in London on May 1st, & will let you know when I can see you at 'Ampstead - if at all - before I go to the Continent. I am due in Vienna on May 5th, so will have to travel rapidly.

I expect to be in Garlant's Hotel, Suffolk St. Pall Mall on the 30th April, where I shall be glad to hear from you

Yes, I've seen Jacassy[2] [sic] & promised him prints for the article in question. I am delighted to hear that madame[3] is recovering & hope to hear good news constantly. You can drop me a line care Commander of Teutonic[4] at [p. 2] Queenstown before the 28th April. What has become of my friend Queen Boadicea[5]? Is she well? And Lord Whibl[e]y[6]?

As to lectures, why not charge one hundred guineas each & be done with it? I am willing, if you charge me 5 / 5 / -.

Many thanks for drinking my health in Cocktails. Here's to you!

And so you are to go to 'Ampstead! Well, well, this is the irony of Fate!! No, no, you wiped out the distinguished O'K.[7] and the other[8] remains here, such as he is. I'll send him to you if you like, if you do another one but not standing and not so small[.] Maybe you might like a lithograph? I envy you Hampstead[,] what fine coal smoke there is up there! Why you can almost see a mile on a clear day! It is much [p. 3] better than the Savoy which is the Champion place for expense. I have been there.

You will not hear from me again until I appear in evidence myself. I am glad to find that you are in good spirits. By this time the Cocktail will have been tested & I hope it is to your taste. It will certainly give you a more cheerful view of life, perhaps even a roseate colored one, even in 'Ampstead. Yes, I notice the tear, but I hope the glories of 110[9] are dimmed only temporarily and that your return is only a question of a short time.

Pope[10] has the picture "Carmen"[11] sent to his house in Cleveland [p. 4] and I hope he will find enough resolution to keep it.

He may write to you as I gave him your address.

Remember me to madam and any others who may (?) take any interest in Your old friend

O.'K.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  Jacassy
Augusto Floriano Jaccaci (1857-1930), editor of Scribner's Magazine [more].

3.  madame
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She was in fact terminally ill with cancer.

4.  Commander of Teutonic
The 'Teutonic' was the steamer Kennedy was travelling upon from the U.S.A. to Europe.

5.  Queen Boadicea
A nick-name for Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Lord Whibl[e]y
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more].

7.  [p. 3]
The printed address is repeated at the top of p. 3 (as on p. 1). Also added at the top of the page, in pencil in another hand, is 'II Apl 14th 1896.'

8.  the distinguished O'K.
Portrait of E. G. Kennedy (1) (YMSM 403).

9.  the other
Portrait of E. G. Kennedy (2) (YMSM 404).

10.  110
110 Rue du Bac, JW's Paris dwelling. The Whistlers were moving to St Jude's Cottage, Hampstead.

11.  Pope
Alfred Atmore Pope (1842-1913), manufacturer and collector [more].

12.  Carmen
Crimson note: Carmen (YMSM 441).