The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07256
Date: 16 July 1895
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: Liverpool
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1244
Document Type: ALS


July 16 / 95

Judge of my surprise, my dear Mr. Whistler, when on opening my bag here, I found the letter which accompanies this.

I thought it had been posted. I got your letter[2] before I left London yesterday. I was at Eastbourne visiting some friends & came up on Monday, hurried through my business, & here I am. Before leaving I am going to see Mr. Chapman's[3] pictures.

I am delighted that the wedding[4] was so distinguished & tear my hair when I think of my compulsory absence from the wedding ceremonies & breakfast.

You must tell me who were there, & the speech you made on the occasion. So you gave [p. 2] the bride away? "I can," said the young man at the Western wedding, "but I wont". She must have been delighted. Well, Good luck to them both, say I.

I haven't got the cake yet but presume you will send it with the etchings. I will dream on it in the usual fashion, & perhaps I may have a vision of marriage myself!

I will write you at more length later on the way.

Don't forget to tell me the Charges for Carriage, shipping, packing &c., in short all expenses.

Thank you for the Certificate for the set of etchings.

I gave a fellow named Isaac Cook[5] a card to you. He is a very nice fellow from St. Louis & I told him to ask for the pastel of the Little White Girl[6], which you are to "put a head on" (or face[)] for me.

Good bye until I reach Queenstown

Yours sincerely[7]


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  your letter
[12 July 1895], #09732.

3.  Mr. Chapman's
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].

4.  wedding
The wedding of Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more], to Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more].

5.  Isaac Cook
Isaac Cook, Jr., of Maine, collector [more].

6.  Little White Girl
The White Girl (M.471).

7.  Yours sincerely O'K.
Kennedy finishes the letter off in the space at the top of p. 1.