UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07196
Date: 6 July 1892
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1184
Document Type: ALS


Confidential

GUSTAV LAUSER[2],
BOOK & PRINTSELLER.

25, GARRICK STREET,
LONDON, W. C.

July 6 1892

Dear Mr Whistler,

Your letter of yesterday[3] came to hand this a.m. also the prints for which please find Cheque Enclosed, as per your memo.

Kitchen[4] 6. 6. 0    27. 6. 0
    20  
Candle factory[5] 8. 8. 0 off    5. 9. 2
Traghetto[6] 12.12. 0   £  21.16.10

 

Now this being settled, I went yesterday, (pouring rain) to The Fine Art Society & saw Mr. Brown[7] of Surbiton, Virginia Water, & Mr. Huish[8][.] There is absolutely no excuse for the prints having been injured, as they were very carefully packed and marked as Huish, Brown & Co. acknowledge. They are trying to get satisfaction out of the P. O. authorities[9] [p. 2] but I don't think they will get any. I could not get anything out of Huish regarding the proofs. I think ice would heat that man, he is so cold-blooded. I am disgusted with these people who are ungrateful and sordid. I wanted six proofs of the "Two doorways[10]", but they would only allow me two, but I fought them & got the six. Brown's excuse was (the ready liar) that a house in New York was negotiating for all the proofs of this plate! It was such a palpable lie that I said flatly, that I did not consider it fair dealing. If he had told me the truth as Huish did, that they could not sell any thing to America except through Mess. Boussod, Valadon & Co. their agents there since July 1st, I should have been satisfied, but as he lied, (Brown), I was determined to have what I wanted & I got it. The whole affair was so cold-blooded [p. 3] that I cannot now think of it with patience.

Brown thought the proofs were fine, & I daresay Mr. Huish does. He was busy writing, so did not pay much attention, except to his writing. I wish I was in Paris so that I could talk instead of write. The etchings arrived, but crushed, as the roller was too weak to withstand pressure in the mail bag. I can repair the damage easily. If you send any again use a wooden roller.

I took two each of the Doorway[11] & Traghetto from the Fine Art Society & will see if I can repair them. I think it can be done. As to the pictures, Richards[12] has [p. 4] them partly under way or weigh. The Westminster[13] will be improved very much by cleaning, as will the "Sea and Sand[14]". When I look at this latter, a feeling of greediness comes over me and I have a pain, but when I think of your revenge on B.[15] (I did not see that letter after all), of "The man in the garden[16]" and the promise (voluntarily made) to paint a head sometime, I have no regrets.

I told Dunthorne[17] about the portrait & he would like some proofs from the description. I told him, that of course they [were] for sale by Mr. Whistler.

The frame for the Westminster is ready & paid for. I told Richards to ship all the pictures to you & insure them. I had only one frame made, as I can make the others in my own shop much cheaper. Also, I told Richards to send the bill for cleaning to you, as I won't be here. If you will see that it is all right, let me have it & I will pay. The pictures won't be ready for ten days yet & then I shall be on the ocean, as I sail on the 13th per "Majestic." I had a rough crossing from Calais[18], but I am now a hardened salt.

I thank you & Mrs. Whistler[19] for your hospitality when in Paris & hope to see you in America next year. I shall be here for this week -

& am with best wishes
yours most truly

E. G. Kennedy.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  GUSTAV LAUSER
Gustave Lauser (b. ca 1841), London print-seller [more].

3.  letter of yesterday
#09689.

4.  Kitchen
The Kitchen (K.24a).

5.  Candle factory
Price's Candle Works (K.154).

6.  Traghetto
The Traghetto, No.1 (K.190).

7.  Mr. Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

8.  Mr .Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

9.  P. O. authorities
A package of etchings had been damaged in the post, see #02969.

10.  Two doorways
The Two Doorways (K.193).

11.  Doorway
The Doorway (K.188).

12.  Richards
Stephen Richards (b. ca 1845), picture restorer [more].

13.  Westminster
The Last of Old Westminster (YMSM 39).

14.  Sea and Sand
Harmony in Blue and Silver: Trouville (YMSM 64).

15.  B.
John Chandler Bancroft (1822-1907), politician, diplomat and collector [more]. See #11556.

16.  The man in the garden
A portrait etching of Kennedy, later destroyed.

17.  Dunthorne
Robert Dunthorne (b. ca 1851), of the Rembrandt Gallery, print dealer and publisher [more].

18.  from Calais ... Kennedy.
'From Calais ...' to the end written at the top of p. 3.

19.  Mrs. Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].