UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07080
Date: 25 August 1862
Author: Thomas De Kay Winans[1]
Place: Lucerne
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1069
Document Type: ALS


Lucerne

Aug 25th 62

Dear Jemmie

Both of your letters[2] have reached me within the last two days - What I do have from your brush I desire should give me great pleasure. It would be necessary for me to take another look at the pictures[3] you offer me before I could determine whether the possession of one of those or of something else which I know that you can execute would give me the desired pleasure, I therefore will have to postpone the matter until my return to England, which will be in a couple of months, in the mean time if you have an offer do not hesitate on my account as I am in no hurry -

I have taken the liberty of placing £50 to your credit with Baring Bros[4], toward something that I may obtain from you and hope it may be usefull [sic] at this time. We are all well and send you our best wishes

Yours Truly,

Thos Winans


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Thomas De Kay Winans
Thomas De Kay Winans (1820-1878), locomotive engineer and collector [more]; his copy of this letter is in a letterbook in Maryland Historical Society, MS 916, folder 40 (#09571).

2.  both of your letters
Not located.

3.  pictures
These may have included Wapping (YMSM 35), later bought by Winans.

4.  Baring Bros
Baring Brothers and Co. bank (see Winans's letter to the bank, on the same day, #12623).