UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07025
Date: 2 January 1897
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[1]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1014
Document Type: ALS[2]


110. Rue du Bac - Paris.

My dear Willie -

Now this is what I will do if you insist upon "sharing" -

The Goupils are to pay the other half of the price[3] agreed upon -

I had originally asked £300 - and this it was fully understood was [p. 2] for you - That we had quite agreed upon you & I. - Therefore that sum you really must make no difficulty about -

If it be more more pleasing that I should take whatever is over and above £300, I will go heartily with you so far - and that will be all right - So let us say no more about it -

I will divide the next incoming Goupil cheque for £200 - Sending you cheque for £100 - which you must not return - and every thing will be perfect - Sis[4] I am sure will agree with me -

Always affectionately, & with best wishes for this New Year,

Jimmie -

I do hope you will get out of that black London soon -

Saturday Jan. 2: 1897!


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
W. McNeill Whistler. Esq. M. D.
17. Wimpole Street
Cavendish Square
London
Angleterre.
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] [RUE] DES CAPU[CINES] / [...] / JA [3?] / 97
[postmark on verso:] LONDON [...] / A C / JA 4 / [97]


Notes:

1.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

2.  ALS
The stationery has a mourning border.

3.  price
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more], the manager of the Goupil Gallery, had just purchased Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63) from Dr Whistler for £400, with JW acting as intermediary (see JW to W. McN. Whistler, #07023).

4.  Sis
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].