UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 07023
Date: [December 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1012
Document Type: ALS[3]


Grafton 8. Fitzroy Street - Fitzroy Sq.

My dear Willie -

I don't know how it is that I have been all this while under the impression that you were in Homburg, & that your letter to me was from there! There was no address, but I got it into my head that the stamps were foreign! - not being the usual [p. 2] British penny! - All this I wrote to Sis[4] some time ago - But this morning a wire from her tells me you are still in Wimpole Street -

Here is cheque from Goupils - they have paid down half - Thomson[5] asking me to let them pay the other half at beginning of year. -

Now do go off at once out of this fog -

But you cant think of the mad haste in which I am forced to write this - So must forgive all sorts of abruptness -

Always affectionately

Jim.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
W. McNeill Whistler. Esq. M D
17. Wimpole Street -
London


Notes:

1.  [December 1896]
Dated from the mourning notepaper (Beatrix Whistler died on 10 May 1896) and the reference to Thomson (see note below).

2.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border.

3.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

4.  Sis
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

5.  Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more], manager of the Goupil Gallery. The gallery had just purchased Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63) from Dr Whistler (see JW to W. McN. Whistler, 2 January 1897, #07025.