UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06750
Date: 8 September [1902][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W744
Document Type: ALS[3]


My dear Nellie -

I also am only just back[4] - arrived yesterday! - and am off again directly - though where I don't as yet know -

Impossible though for me to come to dinner with you - for I cannot easily dine out yet!

[p. 2] So you will just have to take my love to my dear good charming Sis[5] and tell her to write me another of those extraordinary letters of hers which were always delightful to read, and now are amazing to look at! - /

And so for the time Adieu! and write me an account of what happens -

I am sorry to hear that Mrs Sophy[6] is not quite so well - Present to her my compliments & best wishes

Affecly

J McN W

74 Cheyne Walk[7] Chelsea


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Mrs. William Whistler -
10. Holland Park Avenue -
Notting Hill Gate
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] CHELSEA S. W. / 8. 30 PM / 8 SP / 02


Notes:

1.  8 September [1902]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
Written on narrow bordered mourning stationery.

4.  just back
JW had just returned from a extended stay in The Hague, Holland. He had been recuperating there from a serious bout of illness contracted earlier in the summer on the way to Amsterdam with C. L. Freer.

5.  Sis
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

6.  Mrs Sophy
Sophia Eustratius Manuel (1853-1905), née Ionides [more].

7.  74 Cheyne Walk
JW leased 74 Cheyne Walk from the architect C. R. Ashbee in March 1902 (JW to W. Webb, #06267) and lived there for the rest of his life.