The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06732
Date: [23 July 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W726
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac - Paris -

My dear Nellie -

You must of course be in an amazing state of excitement! - But naturally it will all come off capitally -

Tell Willie[3] not [to] worry about his address it will only be too good - and to remember that it can only be heard once - and therefore it is useless to be so over refined -

I know that sort of thing too well myself! It is our great mistake - After wards if [p. 2] he wishes to repolish his work for publication he can do so at ease - and will then probably find that it requires nothing! - In his present state of mind he is no longer a judge -

As to Whibley and the Pall Mall[4], he is off in the south of France with his bride[5] - and it is too late - But I wired you today that you should be sure to send cards to Mr & Mrs Pennell[6] - They could put any thing in the papers - and she would do it very nicely -

There address is 14. Buckingham Street, Strand - But you will have remembered it or found it -

The little picture[7] may have to go to America first - for that is where Kennedy[8] expects it - but I am keeping it a bit as I have had a nibble here - However that we cannot be sure of -

However it will come out all right soon -

Write us about your success -

With love from all and further recommendation to Willie to keep a stiff upper lip,
Always affectionately

J McN Whistler

The lithograph of Willie is coming out in a new Magazine[9] just starting - I call it "The Doctor" - but if he likes, as à propos of all this, I can send word and call it Doctor Whistler - portrait of my Brother -

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs William McNeill Whistler
17. Wimpole Street -
[postmark:] PARIS 52 / BD MONTPARNASSE / 5E 23 / JUIL / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON N. W. / 8 V / JY 24 / 95


1.  [23 July 1895]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. He was addressing a meeting of the British Medical Association.

4.  Whibley and the Pall Mall
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more], who wrote for the Pall Mall Gazette.

5.  bride
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Mr & Mrs Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926) and his wife Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographers.

7.  little picture
Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63).

8.  Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

9.  new Magazine
The Pageant, a new journal edited by Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more], and Joseph William Gleeson White (1851-1898), writer on art, first editor of the Studio [more]. The Doctor (C.110) appeared in the first edition in November 1896, under the title 'The Doctor – Portrait of My Brother'.