The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06729
Date: [25 February 1894?][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W723
Document Type: TLc[3]


110 Rue du Bac, Paris

My dear Nellie

The lithographs and the "Forge[4]" have come all right - and many thanks - It is not a fine proof after all - and for that reason doubtless was not much contested.

I don't suppose that it will be a loss though - Perhaps I may get £15 for it - so that's all right.

I have sent the letter to Julia[5] - 43 Galernaia was that right? I send copy on the other side, as I thought Willie[6] would like to see it.

When I get off the one to Potter you shall see that too.


Letter to Madame Albert Reveilion

"My dear Julia - Accept my felicitations! -

You have done well - though Mr. Thomson[7] - of Goupils tells me you might have done better.

But then he doesn't know how courageous you have been - He has no idea - as yet - that the picture[8], over which you bargained, and haggled, and which you finally sent to public auction, was a gift from my Mother to your own!

Comment, it seems to me, is for once, curiously superfluous - but I may congratulate you upon having so completely freed yourself from ridiculous and conventional theories that hinder the less daring, and frequently prevent their turning into money - however [p. 2] mean the sum - heirlooms & family follies of that kind!

My compliments!

J. McNeill Whistler."

Mind you write us a line to tell me that the address was all right - for I have mislaid your letter -

With love from both


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [25 February 1894?]
25 February 1894 was a Sunday; furthermore this letter appears to date from shortly after Beatrix Whistler's letter on the same subject, #06622.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  TLc
Typescript copy with pencil insertions in an unknown hand at the top of the sheet, including the date and '41a' and '41b.'

4.  Forge
. The Forge (K.68). The sale of this etching is also mentioned in a letter from Beatrix Whistler to Nellie Whistler around the same time (#06622).

5.  Julia
Julia de Kay Revillon (1855-1930), née Whistler, JW's niece [more], married Albert Revillon, husband of JW's niece Julia Whistler [more]. See also a copy of this letter at #02679.

6.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

7.  Mr. Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

8.  picture
Harmony in Green and Rose: The Music Room (YMSM 34).