UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06720
Date: [September 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [Homburg]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W714
Document Type: ALS[3]


HÔTEL DU BON LAFONTAINE
N. LONDE
16 & 18, RUE DE GRENELLE, 16 & 18
PARIS

My dear Nellie -

We are here for a while having got quite tired out with the other place in the Rue de Tournon - and this is nearer to the workmen who are still going on in the house[4]! -

Your letter[5] was capital! and most amusing - What fusty frowsy old Prince it is to be sure! - By the way you dont say whether you have met the Maxse[6] to talk to yet -

[p. 2] Is the brazen Nettie[7] "among em" this year - with her man[8]? -

I see that Sarasate[9] is to be in England again this month - and indeed I suppose every one is getting back -

When do you leave Homburg? - Of course you must pass through Paris - and then we can have it all out about John - and the rest[10] - ! I really must write to John - I am keeping him in pickle! - only I have been so awfully busy -

I suppose we shall go down South for the winter as we have been kept here with all the "instalation" [sic] business - and workmen -

You don't say any thing about my letters in the "National Observer" about the Chicago Exhibition[11] - or rather about really Leighton[12] and the R. A. - and this attitude during the past - and the rest of it! - It was copied in all the papers - but I doubt if you and Willie[13] saw it at all - so I enclose it -

Extraordinary isn't it that they should give me such a chance! -

Paris is always lovely - and every body charming - but we really must get away soon - somewhere -

Who else have you seen? - I am glad Willie is so well there - Is it any where near Münich? Did you hear that this time they have given me a Première Grande [p. 3] médaille d'Or[14]! -

It is funny isn't it the way in which I am just wiping them all up every where! By the way have you by any chance heard any thing of the Potters[15] lately?

I certainly must send you another little cheque for Madame Coronio[16] - directly I can manage it - But it is they[17] who make money out of my name and my work! -

Well well!

Goodbye for the moment -

Write here -

With love to both from us all

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [September 1892]
Dated from address (see note below).

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
Written at right angles to printed address.

4.  the house
JW and his wife Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], moved to a house at 110 rue du Bac sometime in late September 1892, after renovations were completed.

5.  Your letter
Untraced.

6.  Maxse
Possibly Admiral Friedrich ('Frederick') Augustus Maxse (1833-1900), political writer [more], or his wife Cecilia Maxse (b. ca 1847, m. 1862), wife of F. A. Maxse [more].

7.  Nettie
Nettie Carpenter (later Mrs Stearn), virtuoso violinist [more].

8.  her man
Nettie Carpenter was to be cited in a divorce case. She later became Mrs Stearn. See also reference in JW to W. G. Whistler, #07010.

9.  Sarasate
Pablo de Sarasate y Navascues (1844-1908), violinist [more].

10.  John - and the rest
Dr John Cavafy (ca 1839-1901), physician and collector, son of G. J. Cavafy [more]. The 'rest' may have been Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more], and Aglaia Coronio (1834-1906), née Ionides, wife of George Coronio [more].

11.  Chicago Exhibition
World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893. See JW to J. W. Beck, #02705. Published in Whistler, James McNeill, [Letter to J. W. Beck], The National Observer: A Record and Review, no. 195, (new series), vol. 8, 13 August 1892, p. 326, p. 326.

12.  Leighton
Frederic Leighton (1830-1896), painter and sculptor [more], then President of the Royal Academy.

13.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

14.  médaille d'Or
At 6th Internationale Kunst-Austellung, Munich, 1892.

15.  Potters
John Gerald Potter (1829-1908), wallpaper manufacturer and patron [more].

16.  Madame Coronio
Aglaia Coronio (1834-1906), née Ionides, wife of George Coronio [more].

17.  they
Double underlined.