UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06717
Date: [1/5 August 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 247
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: TLc


33. Rue de Tournon. Paris.

My dear Nellie:

I wrote at once to Walter Sickert[3], after reading your letter - and said that [he] had told that he wished to know if we would let 21. Cheyne Walk as he had friends who would like to take it - I told him that this would suit us exceedingly well - and begged him to refer them to Webb[4], who would settle with them at once -

I also wrote to Webb - and asked him to write to Sickert - I have today had a telegram from Webb to say that Walter Sickert has never answered his letter -

[p. 2] I need scarcely say that he has never answered mine -

As you probably see him, if when he comes to paint Willie[5] - I wish you would just make him write to Webb then & there - and put his friends in communication with him - or rather, and this would be better - put Webb in communication with Walter's friends -

If the portrait is however not going on - and you are not seeing any more of Sickert, I wish you would write to Mrs Sickert[6] yourself, and manage this matter for us - for we really would like very much to let the house, and Webb is waiting -

How are you all? - Is Willie all right? and are you going away? - We have been kept here with the studio[7] - which is really perhaps the finest place of the kind I have ever seen! - and the [p. 3] house[8] - which will be a sort of little fairy palace - - a thing on a fan - or on a blue plate! - However it is still full of workmen now - and so we are stuck at the hotel - We may get away for a couple of weeks soon though - and should go to the sea side - though where is not quite decided -

By the way what of this dinner to Moffatt[9] [sic]? - I am one of the stewards, and shall try to be present - Is Willie going? - I suppose he will if he is in town - Do write and tell us some news - I am burning to tell you about John Cavafy[10] - but it's rather long, and then it will be more perfect in a day or two!!! - And Aleco[11]! - & Madame Coronio[12] - how shockingly they have all behaved about my pictures - Madame Coronio you say is poor and excuses must be made for her - well thats all right - and you may tell her that I am pleased to know that I have been of that much service - They gave me 30 guineas for that picture, and have made ten times what they paid - Not a bad bit of dealing - though they were very grasping and wanted more and wrote a violent letter to Mr Thomson[13]! - and Mr Thomson was going referred them to Goupils Solicitors - and so they climbed down and wrote an apology - very properly! -

However they all please me! it is absolutely in keeping with [p. 4] their surroundings - and with the kind of thing I wish to see going on in England - If it be any satisfaction to them, they may know that they are not the only ones who are so distinguishing themselves!! -

Now this is really a joyous letter isn't it - ?

So in return write and tell us some scandal! You must have heard some about somebody - - Did you see any thing of Sarasate[14]? - and What of Nettie[15]?

Love from us both[16] to both of you -

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1/5 August 1892]
Dated by reference to sale of pictures (see below) and reference to a dinner, also mentioned in a letter to Helen Whistler on 7 August 1892, #06718.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Walter Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

4.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

5.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. Sickert did not, apparently, paint him.

6.  Mrs Sickert
Ellen Melicent Sickert (1848-1914), née Cobden, writer [more].

7.  studio
86 rue Notre Dames des Champs.

8.  house
110 rue du Bac.

9.  Moffatt
Probably Edmund J. Moffat, agent, US Department of Agriculture [more]. The reason for the dinner in honour of Moffat is unknown.

10.  John Cavafy
Dr John Cavafy (ca 1839-1901), physician and collector, son of G. J. Cavafy [more].

11.  Aleco
Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more]. He sold Nocturne in Blue and Gold: Valparaiso Bay (YMSM 76) to Sir John Day in May 1892.

12.  Madame Coronio
Aglaia Coronio (1834-1906), née Ionides, wife of George Coronio [more]. She sold Grey and Silver: Old Battersea Reach (YMSM 46), with JW's help, to Mr Potter Palmer in May 1892 (se JW's letter to D. C. Thomson, [29 May 1892], #08201, and JW's letter to her husband, #00694.

13.  Mr Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

14.  Sarasate
Pablo de Sarasate y Navascues (1844-1908), violinist [more].

15.  Nettie
Nettie Carpenter (later Mrs Stearn), virtuoso violinist [more]. See #06720.

16.  both
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].