The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06676
Date: 2 May 1863
Author: George William Whistler[1]
Place: [London]
Recipient: JW
Place: [London[2]]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W670
Document Type: ALS

Bedford Hotel

May 2d 1863.

My dear Jemie -

On Thursday I called on your friend Mr Cavafy[3] & paid him the £84. for the picture[4] - found him a very agreeable & pleasant gentleman, & was sorry not to have met with him before - Be particular in boxing up the picture, so that it may not be injured - what about its frame? I want a nice & appropriate frame - or a [panel?] thing[.] I like as little of a frame around a picture as possible - Have the framing & packing well done, & I will pay you for it - Please do not forget the Etchings[5] - I want them, & can [drive?] them to your advantage at F[6].

Your affect. Bro.

G. W. Whistler.

To J. A. Whistler. Eq.

I dont[7] know if the sea piece would look well with less frame that it now has - use your own judgement - W.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George William Whistler
George William Whistler (1822-1869), engineer, JW's half-brother [more].

2.  London
JW returned from Amsterdam to London around 4 May 1863.

3.  Mr Cavafy
George John Cavafy (1805-1891), merchant, partner in G. J. Cavafy and Company [more].

4.  picture
The Coast of Brittany (YMSM 37). JW seems to have arranged to sell the picture to his brother through Cavafy.

5.  Etchings
JW sent his brother six etchings, probably of the Thames (see #06677). They may have been similar proofs to the twelve sent by JW to the Prints and Drawings Department at the British Museum in August 1863 (#11109).

6.  at F

7.  I dont
'I dont know ... judgment - W' written at right angles to the main text in the left margin.