The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06558
Date: 20 September [1875[1]]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: Hastings
Recipient: James H. Gamble[3]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: Whistler W551
Document Type: ALS

Talbot House.

Monday Sept 20th

It was all for the best I could not send off my tardy scrawl at the end of last week tho I wished it.

A letter written by my Cousin Ann Clunie[4] reached me this morning, so expressive of her sympathy in your sorrow[5], wishing me to assure you both & Mr Wann[6] of her grief for his bereavement. The wonderful old lady, seems stronger tho she finds writing difficult. she explained why she is occupying the Flat a flight of stairs above Mrs Wilkinsons[7], where she was when I was with her two years ago, she has purer air, a finer view & the advantage of being with honest people! she parted from Mrs Wilkinson June 14. Miss Rutherford[8], her Cousin ministers to her comfort in every way & has put a hand rail to her stair case, so I think she yet goes out, sometimes, tho she does not tell me more. I am to direct as heretofore to 67 Hanover St Edinburgh - And answers to my letters, may be directed to me at Talbot House, for my prospect is to remain in these comfortable apartments, during the winter. My good land lady[9] is trust worthy, truly a christian & I shall write my doctor today of all she promises. I shall need no other Nurse, please God to spare me any alarming attack of illness. The faithful Nurse who has attended me nearly seven months, is to go home to the Association of trained Nurses in London[10], on friday. as she says, "While you are under Mrs Mudies roof Ma'am I [am] sure you do need no one else." We shall part as true friends, lovingly interested in each other welfare. Looking out of the N E window, the 3rd room in my suite (Nurse's room which I shall retain [)], I can see the Church, where I may yet be able to go! as the walk round to it is not greatly beyond my daily stroll, tho rather more up hill than I can yet attempt Mrs M is to ask her clergyman to call to see me, this week, And she says "If any of the District ladies come you may enjoy a half hours call from them, it will be more cheerful than for you to sit alone! And now adieu dear Mr & Mrs Gamble[11], you are inseparable in my remembrance of your friendly calls on me when I was alone, the season you spent in London. God bless & spare you to each other, til He takes you to the Home provided for us all. Where partings are over forever!

[p. 2] I shall expect another letter from you soon & hope one also from Scarsdale Cottage[12]. I have this morning received a most interesting letter from my neice Mrs Adolph Rodewald[13] & hope to be able to answer it by end of this month, she with her sons & daughters expected to return to New Brighton to day 20th. My nephew Donald Fairfax[14] (who is not yet Admiral, as you heard he was, but expects to be if he serves our country a score of years longer! has lately written me, assuring me of his unabated affection! his wife[15] & he rejoice in my marvelous recovery! My dear Willie[16] could not come on Saturday but will, by Gods help, next & probably to stay 2 or 3 days. How favored I am! thro the tender mercy of our Heavenly Father. Remember dear friends my sons in your daily petition for absent loved ones. I never forget any in my Native land.

Your affectionate


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  1875
Dated from reference to the Perpetual Calendar Whitaker's Almanac, and AMW's move to Hastings in August 1875; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 9 September 1875, #06555.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more].

4.  Ann Clunie
Anne Clunie (b. 1793), a Scottish cousin of AMW [more].

5.  sorrow
James H. Gamble's sister, Jane Wann (b. 1822) died in June 1875; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 9 September 1875, #06555.

6.  Mr Wann
Samuel Wann (b. 1820), merchant, brother-in-law of J. H. Gamble [more].

7.  Mrs Wilkinsons
Mrs William Wilkinson, Ann Clunie's landlady. She lived at 67B Hanover Street, Edinburgh; see PO Edinburgh and Leith General Directory, 1874-1875, p. 293.

8.  Miss Rutherford
Miss Rutherford, a cousin of Ann Clunie.

9.  land lady
Janet Mudie (b. 1821), AMW's landlady at Hastings [more].

10.  Association of trained Nurses in London
'Association of Nurses' (The London), 62 New Bond Street, W and 86 Kennington Park Road, London SE; see PO Directory, 1881, p. 706. AMW was looked after probably by Nurse Taplin; see AMW to JW, 11 July 1876, #06559.

11.  Mrs Gamble
Harriet Gamble, née Wheaton, wife of J. H. Gamble.

12.  Scarsdale Cottage
Margaret Getfield Hill (1802-1881), a friend of AMW, of Scarsdale, NY [more], owned the Scarsdale Cottage in which AMW lived intermittently between c. 1851 and 1857.

13.  Mrs Adolph Rodewald
Julia Catherine Rodewald (1825-1897), née McNeill, JW's cousin, wife of A. Rodewald, Sr [more].

14.  Donald Fairfax
Donald McNeill Fairfax (1821-1894), naval officer, JW's cousin [more].

15.  his wife
Virginia ('Ginnie') Carry Fairfax (d. 1878), née Ragland, wife of D. McN. Fairfax [more].

16.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].